Liebster Awarded!

During my blogging absence, I was kindly nominated for the Liebster Award by Vividhunter, blogger of Where Next Japan, which is a practical and beautifully photographed blog on Japan by an Australian who has been living there since 2006. Be sure to check it out!

Before I hurriedly accept the award and write about it (for all I know it could be another way of saying “The Worst Blog of Year Award”..), I did a bit of research on what the Liebster Award is and where it actually came from…and like everyone else who googled, there doesn’t seem like there’s much info out there. All I found was that it originated from Germany, possibly around 2011 (first noted Liebster Awarded blog and that “Liebster” is the German word for “beloved”.

I guess the main aim is to recognise blogs that are fairly new and unknown which is great since its hard to really see whether people are actually listening to your blog in the wide expanse that is the World Wide Web.

So here are the rules (and I love how the rules are listed…I love ticking things off):

1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog.

2. Link back to the blogger who presented the award to you.

3. Copy and paste the blog award on your blog.

4. Write 5 facts about yourself

4. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 5 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed (see below).

5. Let them know they have been chosen by leaving a comment at their blog.

5 Facts!

(This is actually must harder than I thought…)

  1. I’m a graduate structural engineer (graduated last year) and my bus/train rides often consist of me analysing how that building/bridge/traffic light stands up. We need more credit for what we do….but that’s another issue.
  2. I went to India in 2006, trekked 100km through the Himalayas (with the help of lovely Sherpas of course) and undertook community service at a Tibetan Refugee School – best experience of my life – everyone needs to go to India.
  3. I love reading and my favourite author is Haruki Murakami, hands down!
  4. I hope to one day live in Japan for a period of time and experience all the onsens (Japanese spas) – this is one of my favourite things about Japan.
  5. I am currently studying for the JLPT N3 test which I will take at the end of this year.

5 Great Blogs!

  1. Michael Weening: via Tokyo – blogs about his life in Tokyo capturing those little streets and temples that the normal tourist won’t come across, making his blog all the more special and unique.
  2. Chinarama – “Back alley findings and musings about popular culture in China” –  if you love China and Chinese culture, visit this blog! Great photography and equally amazing adventures.
  3. Celia in Tokyo – Personal yet informative adventures of a fellow Australian half Japanese in Japan – from weather forecasting to the major Japanese festivals.
  4. En Route to Awesomeness – I have literally laughed out loud with this blog. A JET blogging about her often negative kyushoku (Japanese school lunch) experiences and funny English gone wrong T-shirts.
  5. Bispektekeld – Mouth watering food snaps and life in Japan by a programmer/cook/artist/teacher/gamer/blogger.

Once again thank you to Vividhunter from Where Next Japan for nominating me for the award!

Good night.

